M.I.A., Her Little Birdy, and the Consequences

Although I did not watch the Super Bowl (Yes, I know I’m a horrible human being – who cares?) I did get the news of M.I.A.’s apparently obscene gesture during her performance. There are many speculations about whether or not she should be punished for her flick ing the bird. An E! News article also questions the act of punishment, stating that at most she probably will not get her after show installment (her 2nd paycheck for her performance). Many people were offended by M.I.A.’s middle finger slip and yes, it is rude and most importantly against the rules of her contract, but honestly, people need to calm down. The slip was hardly even noticeable. Plus, even though the performance was live and there ‘s a clear agreement that does not permit obscenity, it does not mean it’s worth a big fuss. There are worse things on daytime television.

Yes, she probably shouldn’t have done it to begin with, but the issue isn’t worth legal punishment. Go ahead, take away her money, it won’t take away the past or the tons of videos already posted online. Like the article says, “…if worse comes to worst, she can always sell that exotic head dress on ebay.” Regardless of the money M.I.A. might stand to lose from this whole thing, it will not really make a difference. Live T.V. is LIVE, anything can happen. She clearly knew her consequences but I can too relate in thinking it’s really not a big deal. She didn’t direct it at anyone specific, simply to the words of her song.

Well I’m sure many people can’t wait till next Super Bowl mishap.

In case you missed it.

Leave a comment